Why we Liberals are our own worst enemy

…and this is liberals the world over.

I disagree that the mantra of Conservatives is that they are in the majority, I honestly feel that we liberals are. One of the many problems we have is that we are not politically motivated enough. We are prepared to stand by and allow things to go on the way they are because, well, we don’t get out in enough numbers and we are, by default, cynical of government. We know that government won’t do what is right – it will only do what it needs to do to keep up its friendships with business, and large business at that.

What needs to happen is that we become fed up with the status quo and decide to change it – that is what happened on the 4th of November when Obama was elected.

After that, we liberals now want change – real change, something that we can see as ours, not just the president-elect’s. But when he does propose a change – the diverse bunch that we are decide that isn’t the change that we wanted – enter Rick Warren.

The outcry I have read about is, to me, crazy!

OK – Warren has his views on abortion and gay marriage – but don’t we liberals espouse that we believe in free speech and freedom of thought? That can, sometimes, hurt our respective feelings – but we have to take the view that all are allowed freedom of speech and thought – if we don’t we are not the liberals we think we are.

Obama allowing, even inviting, Warren to deliver the invocation at his inauguration is a part of that change! We have to understand that. As I said, we liberals love freedom – and we have to stick with that even if it sticks in our throat. How are we supposed to change peoples minds through debate if we simply silence them? That is the conservative way – as proven by Bush and Cheney. Are we really like them?

I think not.

If we do want openness, it is we who have to open our arms and show that we are not just the radical left, we are the ones who have to say, Sorry, I have to disagree with you” and explain why. Conservatives don’t do that – they simply say that if you disagree with them you are not a patriot, a [add country here], even a human being as I have been called.

That doesn’t hurt me – it just shows that those conservatives who say such things are scared. Not of me, but a change of ideas – a change that will benefit them as it will everyone else, but it is change and conservatives are scared of that change – no matter how little or great that change will be.

So we should not just condemn Barack Obama for his choice – what we should do, yes, is say that we are a little shocked but we understand that when he says inclusive – he means all society and not just us liberals. To exclude the conservatives is just as bad as they have done to us over the Bush reign.

And that is the biggest change of all!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

About Bolshy

Blogging in the ether to see if that elusive literary agent or publisher wants some new talent.
This entry was posted in Bias, Blogroll, Blogs, Christianity, Comment, Conservatives, Democrats, Liberal, Liberal Democrats, Media, Personal philosophy, Politics, Sociology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Why we Liberals are our own worst enemy

  1. virgomonkey says:

    *applauds*

    That was a very powerful and thoughtful post.

    I disagree that the mantra of Conservatives is that they are in the majority, I honestly feel that we liberals are. One of the many problems we have is that we are not politically motivated enough. We are prepared to stand by and allow things to go on the way they are because, well, we don’t get out in enough numbers and we are, by default, cynical of government.

    I wanted to write something like the above one day. It’s true. I have to admire the Right for kicking and screaming to get things done when they feel it needs to be. If you remember the Terri Schaivo case, that is one perfect example. But the Left is to be blamed on not showing up to the polling stations during voting time CONSISTENTLY because they are the ones more likely to throw in the towel. I can understand that, however.

    With Obama’s win, I found new hope in the Left. But I was still disappointed that more didn’t turn out to vote.

    I hate complimenting too much because it sounds so cheesy, but I must say that this post is brilliant because it both reiterated my own feelings and made me think about something new as well. Obama’s reaching across the aisle? I say, “good one”.

    Hats off to you, Will!

    [Edit]

    Thank you, much appreciated.

  2. mike says:

    i don’t think conservatives are inclined to say “you are not a patriot, a [add country here]” if you disagree. I just think that conservatives tend to have balls, for lack of a better word, and won’t be pushed around.

    If Rev. Warren really pisses you off, then do something about it. Boycott the inauguration. Show you have some pride in yourself. Don’t just roll over and accept it. Fight! Demand President Elect Obama listen to you.

    I honestly believe there is little Red/Blue divide in this country – we all know it’s f’ed up – but conservatives are willing to put their neck on the line and show some passion. All we ask is that liberals do the same. Show you REALLY care.

  3. virgomonkey says:

    #

    i don’t think conservatives are inclined to say “you are not a patriot, a [add country here]” if you disagree.

    Maybe not mainstream conservatives, but the FAR Right? Most certainly they will call you treasonous, a traitor, un-American, and unpatriotic for any form of dissent – even the most innocuous.

    I cannot even begin to count how many times I’ve been called an “America hater”.

  4. mike says:

    Ahhh, but the distinction is the “far right”. This is like the Rush calling everyone a liberal. How many “truly” far righters are there? I don’t doubt you have been called anti-American many times, but how many time have you fought back and really stood behind your beliefs?

    Far-right people have principles which they are willing to stand on. It may be abortion, gay rights, taxes, etc., but they will put their neck on the line and say this is really important to me, and if someone doesn’t stand with me on it, i’ll let them know. I won’t support them. I will complain everyday and make their life hell. That is why America is great.

  5. Kate says:

    I still think Inauguration Prayer Joust is a viable option.

  6. museditions says:

    My dear Will, how am I supposed to keep my reputation of “not very politically involved” if you keep being so darned provocative. 😉 And brilliant. As a way-left-leaning libertarianish poser, I said to a companion this morning: “Hello! If you listened to the debates, you would have heard Mr. Obama say he was not in favor of same-sex marriage (but was in favor of equal civil rights for gays). That notwithstanding, you make an excellent point about diversity. Certainly not every “liberal” person will agree with everything Mr. Obama believes! To those who have other opinions: “Move along, move along, nothing to see here! Channel some of that protest energy into working for what you do believe in.”
    I actually don’t think any invocation, from any kind of religious leader, has a place in a US governmental ceremony. You know, separation of church and state, and all that. I realize it’s “tradition”, and I can live with the choice.
    Alright, ’nuff from me.

  7. Will Rhodes says:

    Muse – I promise I didn’t just think “Ah let’s be a bit provocative today” LOL

    I just think of things and let the fingers do the walking as it were LOL 😀

    And i must add, your reputation is safe with me, my friend. 😉

  8. virgomonkey says:

    @ Mike

    but how many time have you fought back and really stood behind your beliefs?

    Aaah… that’s what my whole blog is about, love.

    How many “truly” far righters are there?

    I don’t know. But did I imply that I knew? And what does this have to do with anything?

    Far-right people have principles which they are willing to stand on. It may be abortion, gay rights, taxes, etc.,

    Obviously, we define “far right” entirely differently.

    I won’t support them. I will complain everyday and make their life hell. That is why America is great.

    Hmmm. Did I say something to imply the contrary or are you just having a bad day?

  9. Matt says:

    It’s nice to be inclusive, and I understand the message, but I say exclude the excluders. He wouldn’t invite a racist, why invite a bigot? Just because you ‘invite them to sit down with doughnuts and coffee’ does not mean that you don’t equate their lifestyle to bestiality. And yes, I am ‘doing my part’ to let Mr. Obama know I disagree.

    Personally I think people on the right have the influence on the masses that they do because they structure their arguments in such a way as to make those that disagree with them look un-patriotic, cowardly, naive etc. I think the left needs to structure their argument in a way that makes the right look like their stances and policies are tearing America down.

    I’d much rather have an intelligent discussion debating the issues point by point, but many on the right won’t allow that to happen.

  10. Jon Johansen says:

    It’s just unfortunate that this had to happen at all. I think I get all the political reasonings involved in having fatass on stage saying a prayer. But what I can’t figure out is if the obama camp truly believes that we won’t be there raising a ruckus during rick’s little prayer. If they believe this, then they haven’t done the research.

By all means, leave your 2 bobs worth

