For any and all who wish to openly discuss the election results

This blog post is for you

With less than five minutes to go for the first polls to close – there is a great expectation that history is about to be made.

If you want to a part of it, please comment below.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Do not Digg this story, this blog is banned from Digg, let them know you want it back


Bookmark and Share

About Bolshy

Blogging in the ether to see if that elusive literary agent or publisher wants some new talent.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, Comment, Personal philosophy, Politics, Sociology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to For any and all who wish to openly discuss the election results

  1. Venessa says:

    History is going to be made today….I certainly hope it’s for the better!

  2. Will Rhodes says:

    “That one”? LOL

  3. Kelsie in Houston says:

    Call me crazy, but I’m more than a bit choked up…

    I hope this is the moment when the United States finally stretches its hands back out to the world.

    Analysis, commentary, and cooler-heads-prevailing–that’s for tomorrow.

    For tonight, God willing, we make history.

  4. Caer, Australia says:

    As a psychic, I’ve already been accosted for the rusults by one NY citizen, and I know I’ve got it right…
    Go Obama!

  5. Will Rhodes says:

    You have to tell us what you told her, Caer?

  6. Iain Argent says:

    From the UK, it looks as though there will finally be a US president who deserves respect on the international stage. This can only be good for both the USA and for the rest of us. I am staying up tonight to watch the results. I very much look forward to a better world starting tomorrow. Goodnight and good luck.

  7. Will Rhodes says:

    Kels –

    May be a strange question – and if the result goes Obama’s way, how did it feel to be an intrinsic part of history?

    That question goes to all Americans.

  8. Will Rhodes says:

    Thanks Iain – I think many Americans are thinking the same as you.

  9. Will Rhodes says:

    (CNN) — The first exit polls out Tuesday reflect what voters have said all along: The economy is by far the top issue on their minds.

    http://www.cnn.com/2008/POLITICS/11/04/election.president/index.html

  10. Caer, Australia says:

    As taken from my post of yesterday morning in OZ:

    “a bit over/under 7% overall, but up to 16% in some states.
    I CAN be a little out, so allow +/- of .3%”
    Taken directly from saved text ;P

    Happy now, Will šŸ˜‰

  11. Kelsie in Houston says:

    Will:
    Just getting to participate in this election—getting to cast a ballot and carry with it the collective hopes of our small WHYS community alongside–is an exhilarating and even humbling experience (yes, yes, I’m an emotionally-saturated American!).

    If Mr Obama wins, it will be a triumph for our nation and a vindication–after eight years–of our cultural soul. After eight years of being a distinctly skeptical American myself, I can feel that swell of faith and pride in our people; that yes, we’re going to do the right thing.

    My $0.02

  12. Venessa says:

    Kelsie ~

    1996 was the first election I was eligible to vote in. This is the first election I have ever cared this much about. I’m embarassed as an American for the way our country has been run into the ground the last 8 years. I have hope that we will do the right thing as well….

  13. Kelsie in Houston says:

    Vennesa and Will:
    I’ve got to quote my favourite opera once again: John Adams’s Nixon in China:

    “History…history…
    History holds her breath and waits.”

  14. Will Rhodes says:

    I get ya Caer! šŸ˜› LOL

  15. Will Rhodes says:

    Pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeease Indiana go Obama!!!!

  16. Venessa says:

    It’s only 3:30p here…..I think I will be passed out drunk before we get the results….I can’t take the anxiety!

  17. Caer, Australia says:

    I guess I should get back to bed – it’s still early here & our daughter is trying to have a baby atm in the UK.

    Love and Congrats to all the Obama fans…
    Just love to everyone else šŸ˜‰

    G’nite for now, Caer

  18. thebeadden says:

    I’mCanadian and I am sooooooo nervous. Just waiting….

  19. Kelsie in Houston says:

    KY: 0% reporting, heavily McCain
    NH: 0% reporting, heavily Obama
    IN: 1% reporting (approx. 35,000 votes), razor-thin

  20. Kelsie in Houston says:

    Indiana: approx 41,000 votes (1%) counted–Obama’s lead increases to three percentage points…

  21. leapsecond says:

    What’s this? Blogging about the election? How dare you!

  22. Will Rhodes says:

    HAHAH, Brett! Welcome aboard!

  23. Amy in Oregon says:

    Even though we vote by mail here in Oregon, talking with my 8 year old about all of the different races and ballot measures and taking both girls with me to drop off the ballots was great!!!

  24. Will Rhodes says:

    VT called for Obama, Kentucky for McCain.

  25. Brett says:

    Kentucky… Is that even a state anymore?

  26. Kelsie in Houston says:

    South Carolina, Virginia, and Georgia all closed…

  27. Julie P says:

    GA will turn blue!

  28. Brett says:

    Why is everone on CNN wearing royal blue?

  29. Brett says:

    screw GA, my TV screen is turning blue!
    They look like Umpa Lumpa’s

  30. Will Rhodes says:

    LOL calibrate it it!

  31. Brett says:

    Its from CNN’s attire!!!

  32. Will Rhodes says:

    HAHA CNN blue? I just can’t see it.

  33. Brett says:

    I know, I keep hitting my screen, but its not helping! šŸ˜¦ Somethings wrong! lol

  34. Brett says:

    hm… mark warner looks like a young Tommy Lee Jones in the picture that CNN just had up…

  35. Will Rhodes says:

    15 States about to close.

  36. Will Rhodes says:

    South Carolina goes to McCain – ugh!

  37. Will Rhodes says:

    77 – 34 to Obama so far.

  38. PiedType says:

    Took the advice of a family friend, turned on BBC. Another perspective.

    I’m so excited and nervous I can hardly stand it! I’ll be in tears before this is over, guaranteed. I’m so hopelessly emotional and sentimental and patriotic. This is history. The end of the Bush nightmare. The return of American pride. I’ll be standing a little taller tomorrow.

    How I wish I could be in Grant Park tonight!

  39. selena in Canada says:

    Everything is unfolding as it should then?

  40. Will Rhodes says:

    We need numbers on Pennsylvania!

  41. Luz Ma from Mexico says:

    BBC reports 103-34

  42. Pangolin says:

    BBC Live stream is great. Obama 103 to McCain 34. I think we’re getting an early night.

  43. Julie P says:

    Luz Ma,

    Get on your IM.

  44. Luz Ma from Mexico says:

    Julie
    Sorry, I can’t. I am still at work… I will be at home in about an hour and a half. E-mail me if you wish.

  45. Julie P says:

    We’ll be waiting for you.

  46. Luz Ma from Mexico says:

    ok… I’ll be there…;)

  47. leapsecond says:

    Let’s hope the best man wins here.

    And, whoever wins, I hope that, simply, they are a great president – they will be steadfast in times of hardship and will not act rashly (IE no more wars barring a proven strike from a country on American territory). I don’t care whether it’s McCain or Obama or Nader or Barr – I just want a good president.

  48. Julie P says:

    No mention of McKinney! LOL

  49. Will Rhodes says:

    I agree with ya, Brett – some odd numbers still coming in but we need the numbers for Penn – NBC have called it for Obama.

  50. pp says:

    OMG Am so excited – it’s bang on midday here in South Australia & I should be doing other work but instead I’ve got the TV on watching it all unfold – am justifying it by doing the ironing while I watch but I’m too excited & agitated to stand still long enough to iron! I don’t even do this for Australian elections!
    Sometimes things come along that you know you are witnessing a significant part of history – that’s what today feels like, & it’s great to be part of it, even if it’s just watching & cheering on!

  51. Will Rhodes says:

    Welcome to President Obama!! Pennsylvania goes to Obama.

    Fingers CROSSED!

  52. portlandmike says:

    It’s a win in Pa… looks like a blowout to me!

  53. Will Rhodes says:

    I am still a bit nervous – but it looks like a quite large Obama win.

  54. Pangolin says:

    It’s mean of me but I have to say I’m loving the shots of the McCain headquarters in Pheonix. I’ve been to funerals with more good cheer than that room.

    Also Sarah Palin flew for 12 hours to go to Alaska and vote publicly. It’s obvious that this woman doesn’t believe in global warming. Her carbon footprint is the size of a small nation.

  55. Venessa says:

    I’m still nervous…..I’m having flashbacks….

  56. leapsecond says:

    Pangolin: I’m not a huge believer in global warming/climate change/whatever label people slap on it, but I’m still very supportive of environmental friendly acts.

    And, since Penn just went Obama, I’m declaring this thing over, at 8:52 PM EST, November 4, 2008.

  57. Julie P says:

    V, lay off the sh’rooms. šŸ˜‰

  58. Will Rhodes says:

    I think I agree with you, Brett!

  59. Venessa says:

    No sh’rooms tonight…..just copious amounts of alcohol….. šŸ˜‰

  60. Will Rhodes says:

    Ga goes to McCain – what is up with Georgia? They think they are next to Russia?

  61. Julie P says:

    I’m sickened. Ga goes to McCain. I’m changing my name and going incognito.

  62. Will Rhodes says:

    MSNBC calls Ohio for Obama.

  63. Will Rhodes says:

    West Virginia CNN calls for McCain.

  64. Amy says:

    Yeah!!! MSNBC is calling Ohio for Obama

  65. portlandmike says:

    Woot Ohio in Obama’s camp… Everything is changing!

  66. Kelsie in Houston says:

    CNN: less than 12,000 votes separate Mr McCain from Mr Obama–it’s not over yet…

  67. Pangolin says:

    Oh lord; not only do the poor people at the Biltmore Hotel in Pheonix have to attend the wake of the Republic Party but they have to listen to Hank Williams too.

    Now THAT’s masochism at it’s finest. Tell Sarah to put on her long shiny boots and it’s complete.

  68. Amy says:

    As of 6:30 Pacific Time, MSNBC has Obama with 200 EV and McCain 85

  69. Will Rhodes says:

    Ohio – called for Obama.

  70. Will Rhodes says:

    Pango –

    There is this forum as well

    http://z13.invisionfree.com/WHYSERSaftertheShow/index.php?

    All the old faves there, too. šŸ˜€

  71. Julie P says:

    Ohio goes to Ohio. The fat lady is warming up!

  72. Pangolin says:

    If anybody else is watching the BBC streaming video could you please remind my who the american Republican with the mustache is? I just can’t place the name.

  73. Will Rhodes says:

    Axlrod, Kelsie says, Pango.

  74. Kelsie in Houston says:

    Not sure on that…but I think so.

  75. Kelsie in Houston says:

    Good to know someone else is catching this on the BBC; they’re trying awfully hard.

    ::OOPS::
    Mark Spitz, Pango–sorry!

  76. Pangolin says:

    New Mexico called for Obama. For those that feel like singing heres the lyrics to Ding Dong The Witch is Dead

  77. Will Rhodes says:

    New Mexico to go Obama.

  78. Kelsie in Houston says:

    Ack, Pango: Josh “The ‘Stache” Bolton is also on the BBC–they’re really slumming with him…LOL nobody else in America wanted him!

  79. Will Rhodes says:

    LOL @ Pango – President Obama sounds delicious.

  80. pp says:

    I love it that Elizabeth Dole is being ousted in North Carolina.

  81. leapsecond says:

    To McCain:

    You do it to yourself, you do
    And that’s what really hurts
    Is you do it to yourself
    Just you, you and no one else
    You do it to yourself

  82. Will Rhodes says:

    How big for Obama, Brett?

  83. Julie P says:

    Will, it’s going be over 300 for Obama

  84. Will Rhodes says:

    Where are you, Steve?

    I hate to rub it in – but; I TOLD YOU SO!

  85. Pangolin says:

    ROFLMAO- They just played “Kodachrome” at the McCain ‘rally’ in Pheonix.

    “When I think back
    On all the crap I learned in high school
    It’s a wonder
    I can think at all
    And though my lack of edu—cation
    Hasn’t hurt me none
    I can read the writing on the wall

    Kodachrome……..

    If you took all the girls I knew
    When I was single
    And brought them all together for one night
    I know they’d never match
    my sweet imagination
    everything looks WORSE in black and white”

    They need to start handing out the Xanax at the refreshments table. Any minute now they’ll be playing some Simon and Garfunkel……..

    “I am I-raq, I am an I…ii..sland”

    Good thing they ran everybody through a metal detector when they came in.

  86. Will Rhodes says:

    No education, Pango – that would be Palin, then! LOL

  87. portlandmike says:

    Obama projected winner in Virginia! Hear that hammering?

  88. Will Rhodes says:

    I hear it like a jack-hammer!

    Please call it, please call it, please call it!

    McCain will concede.

  89. Julie P says:

    President Elect Obama

  90. Will Rhodes says:

    VA goes to Obama!

    Game over!

  91. Pangolin says:

    And the crowd goes wild. California, Oregon and Washington have made it known that Barack Obama will be the President of the United States.

    Virginia and Florida have Obama currently ahead also. There is NO doubt.

  92. Will Rhodes says:

    Well Done Barack Obama AND WELL DONE USA!!!!

    And I say that with tears in my eyes and a lump in my throat!

    Seriously – well done!

  93. Will Rhodes says:

    Let’s all say a heartily and with all sincerity congratulations to the USA!

  94. Will Rhodes says:

    Florida goes to Obama.

  95. Pangolin says:

    I love the look of that crowd in Chicago. Those are MY people, Americans of all ages, gender and color celebrating together. A crowd that looks like all the people. A crowd that dares to hope. Jesse Jackson in tears; how poignant.

  96. Will Rhodes says:

    The worst concession speech ever!

  97. Amy says:

    I have never been prouder to be an American

  98. Pangolin says:

    Thank You John McCain, for ending your run with class and grace. It’s a shame that your supporters couldn’t hold faith with your example.

  99. Pangolin says:

    The speech was fine. The crowd was a disgrace. With any luck this will be the last presidential election in the US where one party represents people of a specific skin color.

  100. Luz Ma from Mexico says:

    Best day of the year!!!

  101. pp says:

    It was the best I’ve heard McCain speak!

By all means, leave your 2 bobs worth

