A Rose By Any Other Name

 

Don’t call it the War in Iraq.  Call it what it is . . . an invasion.  When you call it a war, you give George Bush and John McCain credit they don’t deserve.  When you call it a war, you lose because like it or not, a war has two sides, and Americans don’t want to be losing.  But we aren’t fighting a war.  The United States, under false pretenses, invaded Iraq, and is currently occupying it.  Adam Kokesh, Iraq veteran and anti-invasion activist, asked the question best at the Republican National Convention: How do you win an occupation?

Saddam Hussein had nothing to do with the terrorist attacks on the United States on September 11, 2001. The invasion of Iraq, because they violated a United Nations resolution, was wrong.  And as Senator McCain says, in the “twenty-first century, nations don’t invade other nations.”

John McCain’s thought process (I’m being generous by calling it that), is a knee-jerk, pick up your guns and go shoot someone reaction, which incidentally also explains his choice of Sarah Palin.  But both decisions leave not only his detractors, but his supporters wondering:  what is he thinking?  He’s not.  And that’s not the person that I want running the country.  As early as September 12th, 2001, John McCain was on record for invading Iraq in retaliation for the terrorist attacks.  September 12th.  24 hours after the planes crashed into the building, John McCain was already pointing his guns at people without any evidence to support it.

John McCain also likes to claim that “the surge is working.”  What does that mean?  Lindsey Graham at the RNC kept yelling “Victory!”  How do you win an occupation?

We’re not winning a war in Iraq.  Osama Bin Laden, the actual architect of the attack, is still at large; Al Qaeda, his terrorist organization, is stronger than it was when they attacked us; Afghanistan, where they were training and the first country invaded by the United States, has fallen back into lawlessness; Saudi Arabia, where 15 of the 19 hijackers originated, is still a leading US ally thanks to President Bush; the United States military, the strongest in the world, is spread thin and staggering (not to mention ill-equipped, but I digress).

John McCain deserves credit for what he has done: voted to authorize military force in Iraq; vocally supported a surge in troops, putting more American service-people in danger; failing to realize the importance of the war against terrorists in Afghanistan; understanding the difference between Sunni and Shia and their allies, since those are the people we’re working with and fighting against in the region; supported deregulation for twenty-six years in Congress and then changed his mind when the banks crashed; toured with cameras for Hurricane Gustav and ignored Hurricane Ike; let his friends, surrogates, & campaign workers lie about Barack Obama while saying, “I’m John McCain, and I approve this message.”

You can call him an honorable man, who is qualified to be president.  You can call his ideas “change,” and his running mate a “crack in the glass ceiling.”  You can call him a maverick, who’s “even bucked his own party to do what is right.” You can call him knowledgeable about the economy, and in touch with average Americans.

You can call shit Shinola.  But you can’t use it to shine your shoes.

Crossposted at Spreading the Word on September 19, 2008.


Bookmark and Share

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

About Bolshy

Blogging in the ether to see if that elusive literary agent or publisher wants some new talent.
This entry was posted in Comment, Conservatives, Politics, WTF! Moment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to A Rose By Any Other Name

  1. eksith says:

    There are few comments besides “you can’t win an occupation” that will send chills down my back.

    Not just because of the gravity of the present situation, but because of how pertinent it is. And because the American people (at least a significant percentage) seem to have cronic myopia in social consciousness that prevents them from seeing it.

    If we “win” in Iraq, it will be the worst defeat for the American people since the civil war.

  2. eksith says:

    BTW.. Rey, you forgot to put http:// in front of your your link to “Spreading the Word” 😉
    And you don’t need the “www”.

  3. leapsecond says:

    I don’t really think that Bin Laden was responsible for 9/11 — otherwise, we’d have gotten him by now. After the 9/11 attacks, the Taliban government offered to try him in their courts, and, later, to transport him to a neutral country for the US to get him, as long as we provided evidence that he was connected to the attacks. Bush simply refused to provide it, saying something gung-ho along the lines of “We know he’s guilty.” We also fabricated that confession tape that US soldiers “found” in Afghanistan to make it look like Bin Laden was guilty of the attacks.

    Bin Laden does nothing but provide the Administration with an excuse to justify our military actions. I bet that if it ever comes time to invade Pakistan, it will be because “intel” says that Bin Laden’s there.

  4. SSG T says:

    Well, as I sit here and ponder the garbage that I just read, I am trying to decide where to start this reply and just what to discuss.
    I guess I will first start with the comment Iraq is not a war. Given that standard the U.S. has only been involved in three “wars” None of which happened in the last century! That means that WWII was an invasion, Panama was an invasion, the Gulf War was an invasion, come on!!!!! How can you possibly apply that standard?!? You then quoted a guy that I am not familiar with but after a bit of research (i suggest you do the same) I found out who and what he was. You are quoting a civil affairs reservist who has no clue of what is going on! You have quoted a guy who is so pissed off that he had to become a soldier and not a weekend warrior that he hates everything. Let me explain what happens in combat, men and women resort to an animalistic state. This is a matter of sanity and survival! In order to overcome and carry out orders you must first not think of the enemy as people. They are the enemy. When a human element is added to that it becomes very difficult to pull the trigger (not that you have any clue about that)!!! So are pictures of the dead wrong? I guess that depends on your point of view. Safe and sound here in the states….that would be wrong, BUT in a combat zone…..probably not. And just so we are clear this has been going on since pictures were available!!! Every WAR has them and will always have them! The fact that John McCain supported the Iraq war, WHO CARES!!!!! At that point in time EVERYONE SUPPOTED IT!!!!! The vast majority of this country did, as did all but a few in the government!!! The intel reports that Bush had, at that time, said that the weapons were there. Saddam violated the sanctions in place and you say so what? Well then I guess any country can do whatever they want and that is fine, which would then mean that we should all be speaking German right now!!!! Maybe we should wait until Iran drops a special little bomb on our heads before we react!
    Afghanistan has fallen into lawlessness!!!! Are you really that one sided!!! Yes there have been issues in Afghanistan that is rue but wait there have been issues in Bosnia so are we wrong for being there? There are issues in L.A should we all move out of there since the police department has clearly failed? Yes I know we should all hold hands and tell each other how much we love each other….but aren’t you the ones preaching hate? Why is my way of life wrong and your’s is right? The last time I checked, I was able to CHOOSE my own life style, and I had the right to NOT LIKE YOUR’S! I really don’t care what you do or what you like, it’s your life. BUT don’t tell me that I am wrong because I am not a tree hugging liberal. Isn’t it supposed to be the other way around? Aren’t you, as a lefty, supposed to be telling me, Mr. Righty, that people can live however they want? But here we have me telling you that! Seems a bit ironic doesn’t it? I am still trying to figure out where McCain lied about Obama and Obama has not done the same? It’s called POLITICS that’s what they do. We are voting for the lesser of two evils. Like it or not that is the truth. Have you ever been to Iraq or Afghanistan? Have you ever walked with the soldiers in batltle? Have you ever held the hand of a dying brother in arms? Do you have any of your own thoughts or is it all you can do is quote a biased media? Ididn’t think so and by the way that makes you just like Obama! Do your own research and find out the facts on both sides with an OPEN MIND!!!!! Not your standard right/wrong view! And the surge didn’t work??? Can you tell me anything about the level of violence in Iraq? Can you tell me how many soldiers died before and after the surge? Wait that would require an actual thought and research beyond what the liberal media is selling the population today.

  5. leapsecond says:

    SSG T: I would go debunk your argument point by point, but I figure that you’d rather let your idiocy speak for itself.

  6. SSG T says:

    Is that the same thing as saying that you quit? Typical. I am sure you are the absolute authority on all matters and find it far beneath you to even think of discussing an issue with some right wing caveman conservative like me but please find it in yourself to step down to the level of the rest of us and try and disprove anything I said. Isn’t that the entire purpose of this site? You left wingers get to spill your babble and tell the world how idiotic us conservatives are and we then get to discuss and/or debate those points. I guess I was mis-informed.

  7. leapsecond says:

    Touché, jackass.

    Let me explain what happens in combat, men and women resort to an animalistic state. This is a matter of sanity and survival! In order to overcome and carry out orders you must first not think of the enemy as people. They are the enemy.

    So, you’re saying that men resorting to “animalistic” tendencies during somehow justifies killing another man? You’re saying that we should think of our enemies as subhuman to make it easier for us to blow their brains out? You’re willing to end many men’s lives just because some kook in Washington labeled the enemy as an enemy, calling them a great threat to our nation — even when there’s evidence that they’re not? You’re willing to become the executioner, and not care whether it’s right or not that you kill someone who’s innocent and might not be a sponsor of the government that we’re at war with? Despicable.

    The fact that John McCain supported the Iraq war, WHO CARES!!!!! At that point in time EVERYONE SUPPOTED IT!!!!! The vast majority of this country did, as did all but a few in the government!!! The intel reports that Bush had, at that time, said that the weapons were there.

    Just because everyone was quick to blame Iraq for 9/11 and everyone fell for our disastrous intelligence doesn’t justify it in any way. The fact that the majority supports something is absolutely not a good reason to say something is right or just. That would be the philosophy of “guilty before proven innocent” — which has no place in our society.

    Here’s where it gets bloody ironic:

    Well then I guess any country can do whatever they want and that is fine, which would then mean that we should all be speaking German right now!!!! Maybe we should wait until Iran drops a special little bomb on our heads before we react!

    Afghanistan has fallen into lawlessness!!!! Are you really that one sided!!! Yes there have been issues in Afghanistan that is rue but wait there have been issues in Bosnia so are we wrong for being there?

    And then…

    The last time I checked, I was able to CHOOSE my own life style, and I had the right to NOT LIKE YOUR’S! I really don’t care what you do or what you like, it’s your life.

    So, let me get this straight: you want me to stop saying what I am entitled to under the first amendment, for your sake, saying that you are able to CHOOSE your own lifestyle. That’s all well and good. But what about the people in Iraq, Afghanistan, etc., who have had their ways of life violated by our troops? If Afghanistan has fallen into lawlessness, shouldn’t that be a good thing, since they don’t have to have any Marxist Liberal Evil men like Obama to impose laws on them, and therefore have ultimate freedom to live their lives how they choose? If we didn’t care what these countries did, why are we intervening and building governments there? Shouldn’t we be the ones allowing them to practice their freedom to elect and choose their own government, not going in there as we please and plunging their countries into chaos?

    Do you have any of your own thoughts or is it all you can do is quote a biased media? Ididn’t think so and by the way that makes you just like Obama! Do your own research and find out the facts on both sides with an OPEN MIND!!!!! Not your standard right/wrong view!

    I have done my own research, you fucking idiot. Don’t assume that I haven’t, or that the people writing on this site haven’t. I think my own thoughts as well. Don’t jump to conclusions so often and people might take you more seriously.

    And the surge didn’t work??? Can you tell me anything about the level of violence in Iraq?

    The surge hasn’t worked. There, I’ve said it. While violence has decreased in Iraq since the surge, that is more because of the strategic changes in Iraq than it is because of 30,000 additional troops. We’ve managed to get the Sunnis on our side and have recruited them to try and quell the Shia militias which plague Iraq. It is because of their cooperation that violence is lower, not because we threw more troops at the problem. We’ll know if the surge actually “worked” or not by seeing how the violence is after we leave Iraq — but I bet it’ll shoot back up because of the all-too-familiar Sunni v. Shia war.

    Wait that would require an actual thought and research beyond what the liberal media is selling the population today.

    Most of the time, the truth does tend to have a liberal bias. Oh, and, buddy: I do my own research, and use sources other than the “liberal media” — in fact, I don’t even watch cable news anymore because it’s so dreadful.

    Irony: clicking your username brings us to your homepage of http://cnn, which I think was supposed to be CNN.com. So, your homepage is actually the liberally biased media? Hypocrite.

    So, no, I haven’t given up, and I’m debating your points. I don’t think of you as a caveman — I simply don’t think of you.

  8. Linnae says:

    I just want to say I think it’s funny every time someone clearly on the red side of the spectrum (I think it was the “tree-hugging liberals” that tipped me off) says something like “The last time I checked, I was able to CHOOSE my own life style, and I had the right to NOT LIKE YOUR’S!” (sic).

    I also wanted to make the non-partisan comment that, unless you’re over 70 or have worn the uniform, you have no damn right to make reference to “we’d be speaking German.”

  9. SSG T says:

    Well that was almost an infomative reply. Now it would seem that most of what was written was almost on point. Almost. “I have done my own research, you fucking idiot” nice word choice. I don’t think I have resorted to profanity to defend a position have you? Nice touch I’ll give you that. I guess we need to clarify it for you. I DID NOT say that the killing of anyone was justified. As a soldier you have NO CHOICE!!!! You go where they tell you to go and do what they tell you to do. You raise your right hand and sware an oath and sign a contract that obligates you to do that. Again words being twisted. There are no hidden messages. I speak from personal opinion and research and information that was gathered from my own experinces. And yes the media is a portion of that. My point was that is all you and others keep screaming about is the same information that is out in the liberal media. I do agree with you, the media is very biased. BUT, yes I keep browsing the sites and checking out what EVERYONE is saying. I am a hypocrite because of an auto-generated piece of information. That is where I found this site because of a comment left by Julie that I saw while reading a point of view that is differnt from my own! Your comment makes about as much sense as tuning out the media does. Good call. Just tune it out or just draw it from the internet cause it’s much better there. I pull information from everywhere and try (sometimes failing) to keep an open mind about what I am reading or hearing or seeing. And just so you know, I have judged NO ONE on this site. I disagree with the opinions and maybe the way you choose to live but that is your right. Just as it is mine to disagree with you and that lifestyle. You are partially correct in the surge. We did form new bonds and get some help with relations. That is very true and it helped. There is also the fact that we added more troops and changed the way those troops could operate. That, in my opinion, was the biggest part of what made it. I also agree with you on the fact that Iraq will eventually be in chaos. It always has been and always will be. HOWEVER, we set out to do a job and that job was to establish a free Iraq that was free of an evil dictator. That means (to me) that we are to set up that country the best we can with what THEY want and how THEY want to run. For the most part this is what is happening. Weather you want to believe that or not makes me no difference. I HAVE BEEN TO IRAQ AND TRAINED THE IRAQ FORCES WHO TOOK PART IN THAT!!! My information on this is not from the media. I know what’s there. Nice final point. You don’t think of me. That’s a pretty standard reply. Again I disagree with the close minded view. I, being a conservative, think of you, a liberal. Just as I try and think of everyone. How can you even think like that? I thought that the liberal side was trying to make life better for ALL. (that includes those who disagree with you) I didn’t say anything about stopping you from saying what you were given the right to say. I would never say that. What I said or meant was that you just keep preaching about how wrong everyone else is. SImple. I am no more wrong in my views than you are in yours! Men and Women have died giving and protecting that right for us but all we hear is how wrong one sid eis over the other. THAT IS WHAT IS SICK!! Why is it that I don’t have the right to not like something but you have the right to not like me?!?! That is hypocracy at it’s best. The truth tends to have a liberal bias. I don’t think so. The truth is the truth. It’s NOT BIASED. IT’S FACTUAL!! Do you know how the people of Iraq lived before we went in? What about Afghanistan? Any idea what “freedoms” those people had. I know first hand what they had. NOTHING!!! Now they have the beginning of something. Maybe it will last maybe not. That is at least the choice of the people now.

    And for Linnae
    HOW IS IT SICK FOR ME TO NOT LIKE YOUR LIFESTYLE? YOU CLEARLY DON’T LIKE MINE!! But Iguess that’s OK right. And just so you know, I SERVED FOR OVER NINE YEARS IN THE US ARMY. I HAVE WORN THE UNIFORM AND I HAVE THE RIGHT! I served in TWO combat zones and saw more than I ever wanted to see and did things most people can’t even imagine so I stand by my statement. That is where my statement about degrading the enemy comes from. Not form some story I read online or a story in the news. I know what it takes to get through a war and how your way of thinking changes once your there. I have been lead and I have led troops into battle and watched men die for this country! I have paid for the freedoms tha people want to trample because of a disagreement! I do not agree with your point of view that is a right I have earned and protected for this country!!! I will continue to do that just as you will disagree with mine and the bottom line is THAT IS WHAT FREEDOM IS!!! Being able to disagree but accept. I don’t want to change your views just as you should not want to change mine. We are different people and we choose to live differently which is why this country was set-up in the first place.

  10. leapsecond says:

    My point is, I guess, is that you say you’re a conservative, which in my mind means a traditional, non-interventionist, free-market kind of guy. But all you do tell us how awesome it is for us to go into nations and bomb people into liking democracy and freedom at the point of a gun, saying how wonderful “liberty” is. Who are we to police the world? Shouldn’t we be keeping to ourselves and worrying about our problems here at home rather than going around liberating people from awful governments? I’m not saying I don’t empathize with those in Afghanistan under the Taliban or those in Iraq under Hussein, but I feel like it’s their issue, and not ours. Yes, you can talk about how this nation building bullshit is all about the “common good”, but, really, is it? How many people have lost their lives because of this war? If we really cared about our troops, wouldn’t we avoid altercation at any cost? I digress. The irony is my “liberal” point of view is actually more “conservative” than your own.

    It’s funny how you mention the Taliban and Hussein’s regimes as the specific reasons for us going and creating freedom for the people. Want to know how they got into power? WE GAVE THEM MONEY AND GUNS. We created the Muhajadeen in Afghanistan, fighting a proxy war there, during the Cold War. We gave them money and guns, and after the Soviet Union collapsed, those with guns assumed power in Afghanistan. Thus, we gave birth to a regime that we had to come back and kill 15 or so years later because they were too oppressive. By “liberating” the people from one oppressor (the Soviets), we created another one.

    The same goes for Iraq. Saddam was put in power because he was part of a CIA organized conspiracy to usurp the Iraqi monarchy. The Baath party, helped by the CIA, established a coup, and they took control of the government. The CIA endorsed the fighting within the Baath party after they assumed power, and Saddam and his “master” quickly assumed power. During the 1980 invasion of Iran, Saddam received arms and money from our government, IE the WMDs we tried to find but disappeared. WE were the ones who put Saddam in power, and he quickly became a dictator. It should be noted that Saddam, a Sunni, was put in power to establish a balance of power between Shia-dominated Iran; there were fears that, with a Shia government, Iran would swallow Iraq. The point is, we’ve tried to build nations before, and they’ve come back to bite us 10-20 years. If we didn’t try to build nations during the Cold War, we wouldn’t be in any war right now!

    I am not closed-minded; I listened to your argument and I obviously wasn’t swayed by it. By “not-thinking” of you, I mean that it doesn’t really matter to me whether you disagree, since it doesn’t change my opinion. I have no said anything to the effect that you are not allowed to speak your mind, or that I want these freedoms of ours to be diminished; that’s the last thing I want for sure! I’m all for debating your points, and I might have went a little overboard with my last comment, but you are pretty hypocritical (the freedom thing). I just want you to practice what you preach and get the idea that other countries want freedom too, as you pointed out, and us invading and telling them what to do is infringing upon that freedom.

    For the record, my problem with the media (specifically cable news) is that they report on meaningless stories which overshadow the real stories. I don’t think they’re biased in a “liberal” or “conservative” way, I just think they don’t report on what is factual. They worry too much about “ratings” and corporate profit, which leads to dishonest journalism. By my “the truth tends to have a liberal bias” quip, I meant that conservatives usually pout and say the media’s liberally biased when they actually say facts, like the fact that conservative policies of deregulation contributed to the current economic crisis.

    I’m just opposed to us invading, starting toppling a dictatorship, establishing a new government, and having to come back there in 20 years to topple the dictatorship that rose out of the new government. I still don’t know what is the right thing to do in Iraq, as either way will cost Iraqi and American lives, though pulling out seems more sensible. Our bottom line should be our troops, not Iraqi lives, as cruel as that sounds. There’s just no right answer and that’s what makes Iraq such a bad issue. Afghanistan as well.

  11. SSG T says:

    I must say that having read the reply i agree with most of what you have stated. I do think it is more important for us to stay home (militarily) and defend our own borders rather than fight for some one else. But, we have some how became the world police, which I totally disagree with, but have no choice to follow. As far as Afghanistan I know we not only placed the government when they were fighting the Russians, we trained them! Bin Laden was our greatest tool in the effort to defeat Russia!!!! Now we are fighting him and the people that we helped! It seems typical in our history that we first help then fight. Sad really. I had not heard the CIA deal with Iraq before however I can believe it. I don’t think that changes what we have done there. I am insupport of the war and will probably not change in that belief. I have seen women beaten and seen the mass graves where Saddam tested those weapons he did not have. I have seen the children slaughtered laying in the streets because the father refused to fight for Saddam, but that stuff doesn’t make the news. I guess I wouldn’t say that we have made Iraq free but that we have liberated the people from an evil dictatorship. i don’t believe in bombing a country just to get in some good ol’ fashion target practice. But I think we should have went to Iraq the first time and finished the job, thanks Colin Powel. My position is and will be that we should always take care of our own FIRST!! Regardless we should have priority over everything. Having seen Iraq and other places that we have been (Panama, Bosnia, Afghanistan) I think we should have went in. That is only after having seen it for myself. Slaughtered children for the gain of power was enough. There is never a right or wrong in war. There is only war. I believe that peace in this world will never be acheived. While we, as human beings, may desire and even strive for it, there will always be a need for military action some where in the world. As you said, avoid altercation at any cost, should be our policy. Caring for the troops. I agree but also disagree. We should care but we should care for those who have volunteered to go to war. That is their job. As bad as that is, it is true.

By all means, leave your 2 bobs worth

