You can take the Englishman out of England, but you can't take England out of the man…

This is a phrase I have heard come from the mouths of many an Englishman since the beginning of my relationship with Mr. William Rhodes.

It can be done! Englishman can in fact be integrated successfully into Canadian society! It can be happen.

It was proven to me this evening when the evening meal was FINALLY referred to as SUPPER. πŸ™‚

William will, no doubt, come back to this post with excuses as to why this occurred, but let me assure you all not to lose hope… in time your Englishman can become civilized too πŸ˜‰

Alison Rhodes

About Bolshy

Blogging in the ether to see if that elusive literary agent or publisher wants some new talent.
This entry was posted in Comment. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to You can take the Englishman out of England, but you can't take England out of the man…

  1. Julie P says:

    And how do Englishmen refer to this meal?

  2. alisonrhodes says:

    Tea (And, I am in so much trouble for posting this.. but he did tell me to post more frequently on his blog.)

  3. Julie P says:

    Alison,

    I would love to a cultural exchange sort of thing on this. I grew in Milwaukee, with my father working for railroad shipping firm on the Great Lakes. I think I have adopted some Canadianism (for lack of a better term). However, I am now living in Atlanta and wonder how much of my Midwestern-isms I’ve lost. Keep writing.

  4. museditions says:

    Aw, Alison, don’t civilize him TOO much, we love him as he is. It’s very difficult to live somewhere for years and not succumb, at least somewhat, to the local dialect. I’ll bet he gets all completely Brit when emotional; most of us revert back to our origins then! πŸ™‚
    PS: We call it “dinner” down here. πŸ˜›

By all means, leave your 2 bobs worth

